School of Witchcraft and Wizardry – Enigma Quests London

School of witchraftOk so there was no way I could go to London and not play a room with this amazing theme!

When we arrived at Enigma Quests, we waited in possibly the best reception area I have seen. As well as the usual puzzles, there were hot and cold drink facilities, table football and lots of space to chill out in. It reminded me of a student hideout or something which I’m definitely not cool enough for!

Game Story:

Ever wanted to have magical abilities? Still haven’t received your letter from Hogwarts? You now have a chance to graduate from the School of Witchcraft and Wizardry and prove everyone that you are a true witch or wizard!

This is not an easy task, and will require you to be focused as never before. Your team will face obstacles and tests requiring cooperation and some bravery. Remember, every minute counts!

On your quest to becoming a witch or wizard, you will learn new skills and gain knowledge to help you pass all exams and defeat the dark forces. Are you ready for the challenge?

I was beyond excited for this room, but at the same time I felt nervous; in my head, I was expecting the room to be truly magical and I believe that if you are going to take on creating a room with this theme, you can’t cut corners. Thankfully, I was not let down.

Our host explained that the aim of this room was not to escape, but to pass at least 4 of 6 tasks to successfully graduate – some of which included defensive against the dark arts, potions and so on. This was, in my opinion, a much better way of adding realism to the game and keeping in line with the theme. Upon entering the room I was pleased to see no padlocks; it looked just how I imagined it would. Imagine a Hogwarts common room and you have the right idea.

Gameplay:

The game required a lot of vigorous searching before we could begin to piece parts together, so it started off non-linear but as we progressed, it turned back to linear with all 4 of us working together throughout most of the game. The puzzles played to our strengths as there were many times where logical thinking was necessary – solving riddles, interpreting and deciphering information. We worked through most puzzles quickly but did need a couple of hints. Each time we were given a hint, we all had an “oooohhhh” moment – yes, that makes sense now, silly us! I believe we would have escaped quicker if we weren’t overthinking one of the puzzles, which was a lot simpler than what we were making of it. What I liked about this game was that we would only receive a hint if all 4 of us asked. On completion of a puzzle, the room directed us as to what to focus on next – like magic!

We passed all 6 tasks with just under 10 minutes to go. I GRADUATED! I’m still waiting for my Hogwarts letter though ….

Highlight of the game: I loved having to cast spells and make potions. The tasks were very well in-keeping with the theme.

Any drawbacks? The hints were given over a speaker, which deterred from the theme slightly.

Overall Opinion – If you are visiting London, I would definitely recommend you to do this room. It was different and exciting.

Want to know more about the School of Witchcraft and Wizardry?

https://enigmaquests.london/quests/school-of-witchcraft-and-wizardry-rms1003

2 thoughts on “School of Witchcraft and Wizardry – Enigma Quests London

Leave a Reply

