Spellbound – Make Your Escape Derby 

Spellbound has excellent reviews in the escape room community so I was itching to get in! 
Game story 

In the witchcraft trials of 1607, two women were convicted in Derby despite protesting innocence. For centuries, their woodland cabin remained untouched. 

Now their story continues: one of mystery, deception and magic…and you will become part of the legend. 

Work together as a team to solve the puzzles and escape.

Something wicked this way comes…

The theming is A-MAZING and it was so difficult to believe that this was possible in an office building in the centre of Derby! Lots of magical little elements that look truly precious when combined. 

The first puzzle in this game required a significant amount of teamwork and cooperation. I can imagine LOTS of people falling out over this one – let’s just say my raised “teacher” voice that Ian says I use when he’s in trouble came out quite a lot! When we finally managed to solve this, the rest of the game play was very non-linear. It was still important to communicate in this game because you could literally start solving something that someone else has already done and you would have no idea. The purpose of the game is that each mini puzzle gives you a word, which helps you with the final part of the puzzle once you have them all. 

There were so many different types of puzzles to suit different people and there is certainly enough for a bigger team to get stuck in to. This room can actually hold 10 players; if I’m honest I wouldn’t be able to cope with that many people in a room but I can see how it is possible. 

We did escape – but naughty me writing this after a summer holiday can’t remember the time!

Highlight of the game

The theming was truly special and since the room is based on a local folk tale, it created a more immersive feel. 

Any drawbacks? 

I have mixed feelings about the first puzzle. It was clever but involved a lot of precision and it felt like we spent more time on that then on any other puzzles. However, this is just my experience and I’m sure that other teams will be quicker!

Overall Opinion 

I would highly recommend the room and company to everyone! 

Want to know more about Spellbound?

http://www.makeyourescapederby.com


One thought on “Spellbound – Make Your Escape Derby 

Leave a comment